BILL SUMMARY

1st Session of the 60th Legislature

Bill No.: HB2674 Version: CS

Request Number:

Author: Speaker Hilbert Date: 3/10/2025 Impact: Budget Impact: \$0

Research Analysis

The committee substitute to HB 2674 creates the Statewide Official Compensation Commission for the purpose of setting the salaries for statewide elected officials. The members of the Commission are to be the same as the nine members that make up the Board on Legislative Compensation, of which five members are appointed by the Governor, two members are appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and two members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Statewide elected officials include the:

- Governor:
- Lieutenant Governor;
- Attorney General;
- State Treasurer:
- State Auditor and Inspector;
- Superintendent of Public Instruction;
- State Insurance Commissioner;
- Commissioner of Labor; and
- Members of the Oklahoma Corporation Commission.

The Statewide Official Compensation Commission is only authorized to meet on the same date as the Board on Legislative Compensation. Additionally, the Commission is prohibited from setting salaries less than the salary that was in effect as of January 1, 2025 for each official. Lastly, the measure repeals <u>Title 74 Section 250.4</u>, which relates to State Officers Salaries effective January 31, 2030.

Prepared By: Keana Swadley

Fiscal Analysis

HB 2674 in its current form, expands the duties of the Board of Legislative Compensation to additionally perform duties as the Statewide Official Compensation Commission. The duties of the Commission are very similar to those of the Board; therefore, it is anticipated that the additional duties will be absorbable through existing budgetary resources available to the Board of Legislative Compensation. For this reason HB 2674 in its current form is not anticipated to have a direct fiscal impact on the State Budget or State Revenues.

Prepared By: John McPhetridge, House Fiscal Director

Other Considerations

None.
© 2025 Oklahoma House of Representatives, see Copyright Notice at www.okhouse.gov